“Stay in the Game Long Enough to Play” – Todd Manwarring

I love change.  I love creation.  I love innovation.

I love when a thing (a technology, system, or paradigm, whether “good” or “bad”) is disrupted by a new or improved thing and causes a shift.  I love the inevitable adjustment that occurs among the affected groups after the innovation.  I love the group that causes the shift.

I’m interested how people adjust (or don’t adjust) to these shifts.  I’m interested by the fact that there are always winners and losers when a shift occurs.  I’m interested in how much winners win and losers lose after the shift.  I’m interested that would-be losers can sometimes prevent shifts.  I’m interested that would-be winners sometimes can’t cause the shift they want (it’s particularly when they far outnumber the would-be losers).  I’m interested that the greatest minds with the best intentions often distort who wins and who loses.  I’m interested in how every solution changes what is considered the problem and, in a sense, creates a new problem.

I believe that people are self-interested and try to maximize their happiness.  I believe that people’s beliefs and understanding of the world control the methods and models they use to maximize their happiness.  I believe that the optimal happiness maximizing method a person can have is not unique to that person (i.e. all people could reach their maximum happiness by generally doing and having the same types of things).

I believe the ubiquity of pseudo-optimal models for maximizing happiness creates and perpetuates the greatest problems of the world (I believe a common example of a pseudo-optimal model is: “more money = more happiness;” perhaps a more accurate depiction of this model is: “more money = more control/security = more happiness”).

I’ve learned that some ideas are powerful.  I’ve learned that people with powerful ideas are powerful.  I’ve learned that powerful ideas are difficult to wield.  I’ve learned that powerful people create impact, but unwise powerful people create undesirable impact.  I’ve learned that greed is unwise.  I’ve learned that there are vast amounts of wise, powerful people who create, change, and innovate, disrupt, and shift as much of the world as they have access to.

I’ve learned that I should strive to be one of those people.

I’ve realized I can be one of those people.  I’ve realized that wielding powerful ideas is a skill that can be learned through deliberate action.  I’ve realized that apathy is the antithesis of a powerful idea, that people who obtain apathy become powerless.  I’ve realized that personal paradigms either drive people forward or drown them in stagnation.  I’ve realized that these paradigms can shift to either stop a driven person or enliven a stagnant person.  I’ve realized that I want to be driven.

I want to help ideas evolve into powerful epiphanies.  I want those epiphanies to create innovation that changes paradigms and shifts people disruptively and positively.

I want to go where I’m scared of going.  I want to know what can’t be changed, then make it so it will be changed.  I want my success to have significance.

I will stay in the game long enough to play.

