Dudeing with the Dalai Lama

I’m only going to be 43. This is a possible pathway I think I would really be into:

I would love to end up working for Stanford’s Center for Compassion and Altruism Research and Education. They “conduct rigorous scientific studies of compassion and altruistic behavior…. and examine methods for cultivating compassion and promoting altruism within individuals and society-wide.” Here’s there site. The Dalai Lama is on the patron committee for the center. That sounds pretty good to me. There is a lot of research showing how easily humans will be influenced to do bad things, or how easily we are influenced and conform to forces like social pressure, but there isn’t much research on what influences people to do good and stand against these weaker tendencies.

I would probably take the path of Psychology. Hopefully I could get my PHd from Standford, because they have some of the best innovators and researchers in effective therapeutic treatments. I think I might take an emphasis in mindfulness combined with cognitive-behavioral therapy. I think these are very powerful tools for changing people into more powerful self aware agents. I think that is one of the greatest key ingredients for communities and nations to develop healthily and sustainably. So I might start out with a few years in developing and practicing therapy in larger group settings within a research context. Then I would have a better chance of being able to work directly for the center, where I might continue to develop simple methods for using self-change tools in large scale programs. I’ll stop there cause we’re only talking 20 years out.

