20 Years of Innovation in Law and Education

Caveat: This plan is subject to change. I’m open to surprises.

In order to construct a good vision for involvement in social innovation, I first considered my skill set. I’m good at being well connected and maintaining strong, trustworthy relationships with people. I’m also pretty good at navigating, streamlining, and improving complex systems. I also feel a deep connection with matters surrounding education. That being said, a picture-perfect career in twenty years would look something like an in-house attorney or lobbyist for a company investing in and developing the best and most innovative education practices and policies for a state like California.

In order to get there, I’ve got to be well connected. This means that I’ve likely worked as a judicial clerk, an associate in a legislative general council, and maybe even as an attorney for a prestigious civil litigation firm. This also means I have to be closely connected to businesses and universities influencing education. I have to know the best researchers and the best research being done within the field. I have to understand socioeconomic and fiscal economics of decisions regarding education. I have to at least be well-read or ideally involved in research that supports or critiques proposed solutions in education. It’s a long road marked with a lot of schooling, many position changes, pivoting, and researching, and even more networking. Hopefully though, by the time I reach the age of 43, I am a qualified and a respected asset to the field of innovation in education. Hopefully, I can make significant changes even twenty years after that.

