20 years into awesomeness (hopefully)

It’s interesting that I’m writing about a blogpost about where I’ll be in 20 years when I don’t even know where I’ll be this next summer, or this weekend for that matter! But I have always remembered one of Stephen R. Covey’s 7 Habits of Highly Effective People which says to “Begin With the End in Mind,” and I think the more we have a vision of where we’ll be in the future the better we’ll be able to navigate the present.

I have always been interested in business management. The idea of leading a team of professionals excites me, and coupled with the thought of leading a mission-driven, socially minded organization would be incredible. Therefore, in 20 years I envision myself at the head of a somewhat small but reputable mission-driven, for-profit business. Exactly what this business would do I’m not 100% decided on any one cause yet, because I could imagine myself in many different arenas of the social impact space. Although, if I had to choose one, I would love to get involved with a tech company that is geared to improving education and bridging the gap of low-income high school graduates to higher-income, white collar careers. I love the culture of tech companies, and I think there is a lot of potential in utilizing technology in the classroom.

