Close to Home and Making a Difference

In 20 years, I will be 40 (holy smokes)! I hope I will have filled that space of time with lots of traveling, lots of writing, lots of family.

I picture myself as a writer, probably doing freelance work. But when it comes to social entrepreneurship, I’ve always imagined myself doing something close to home. I figure my community will need me just as much as any other place in the world. So, what talent or passion can I share?

Ever since I was a little girl, my mom and I have gardened. We’ve planted flowers. We’ve planted tomatoes. We’ve planted herbs. There was something about working with the Earth that help me captivated. I also liked experimenting in the kitchen, and I used much of the produce from our garden in the process.

Keeping that in mind, here’s my idea: I want to plant a community youth garden where adolescents can learn how to plant, tend to and harvest vegetables and fruits. Along with that, I want to use the produce from that garden to teach them how to cook and create healthy, balanced meals for their families.

The benefits from this kind of project are many: participants learn the value of hard work, they learn nutrition, they get outside and away from other distractions and dangers, they make new friends, and I get to share with them something I love.

Of course I will need to work out the technicalities of how to fund the venture, but that will come in time. For now, I like this vision–writer by night, gardener/chef/teacher/youth mentor by day.

