The best of all careers

What would be the ideal career combination?

That is a very very good question. One that I have been thinking a lot about lately. I would have to say it would be a stay-at-home-dad/farmer/teacher/volunteer preacher (all part-time, of course). There you have it. My dream job. Maybe add “business owner” to the list (local, community building, Eco-friendly business).

Often I think that I need to make some global impact, when really I think I just need to make a positive impact in the lives of individuals I am blessed to associate with. Family & community. And anyone else along the way.

I would love to be a stay-at-home-dad, because spending time with kids would be awesome. It is in the family that we have the largest and most important impact.

I would love to be a farmer because that would mean connecting with the earth. This may sound lame, but I think we would all be surprised at how rewarding it would be.

I would love to be a teacher because I think that is the most important thing we can do to help others. Not sure what or who I would teach, exactly. I would love to teach anything from elementary school to upper-level graduate courses. Topics ranging from literature to mathematics to economics to philosophy (I’m not qualified to teach any artsy stuff).

I would love to be a volunteer preacher because a person’s spirituality is so fundamental to well being. I want others to experience the unmatched peace and fulfillment I have found in religion.

I would love to be a business owner because business can be such a positive influence in a community, when done right.

Not too long ago I would have said the ideal career would be to travel the world investing in high-potential social ventures. I still think this would be wonderful, and this would still be an amazing opportunity. The reason I think the above combination would be ideal, however, is because it would be centered around family and community. Relationships. I think it would be extremely rewarding and impactful.

When I was in high school, I wanted to be a ski/mountain bike bum (choosing both allows it to be year round). Or a hermit that lived in a cabin and read books. Seems like I haven’t changed much, but perhaps have been exposed to some more meaningful activities.

