OLE GRAMPS

I think that at this point I would choose my grandfather, William Ralph Andersen. He was one of the greatest influences on my life, and I owe a lot to the great dude. My grandfather is a scientist at heart and he researched and taught plant genetics here at BYU. He is one of the most deeply spiritual people I know, and he had a way of combining his scientific perspectives with the truths of the gospel. He really just had a thirst and desire for truth and light, and sought truth from where ever he could find it. I want to hear more of his thoughtful and intelligent insights which often helped me to gain a greater perspective on life, or whatever the topic of conversation was. I want to be able to talk about the fundamental problems our world is facing, and the nature and critical components that are necessary for adequate solutions to these problems.

I think that because my grandpa and I were so close, he was aware of my strengths and weaknesses. In this class it has been pointed out that we need to make our impact when we are ready. There is also the famous quote from Ghandi which coincide with this idea, “Be the change you wish to see in the world”. I’m seeking to more fully change and prepare myself to better make my contribution. I think that my Grandpa could be a great assistance in my process of personal enlightenment. He helped to bring out the best in me, and in doing so, helped me to realize my potential as well as where my skills and passions lie.