Who I’m Looking For…

While I find the wording to be rather interchangeable among the selection criteria similar of several organizations seeking to fund social entrepreneurs, I found a few principles that I highly agree with in New Profit, Inc. which reassures me that  my money will go to organizations with visions like mine.

For me personally, perhaps one of the most key characteristics I would look for before investing is “Social entrepreneur relentlessly attracts high-quality resources (e.g., talent, funding, and partnerships) that significantly advance the size, capabilities, and influence of the organization”; this shows me that the funds that I am giving will go to people who are proactive, and already doing everything they can to gain momentum because they are converted to their cause. I want to enable a forward moving force, I do not to find myself the only one pushing.

After this criteria has been met, my next big point is thus: scalability. I have very little desire investing in an organization that does good, but could be doing better. Goals are everything: the ability to see into the future and reach a much larger audience. In terms of social impact, ultimately this is what we are aiming for. As specified, “Organization’s program model can be scaled to serve significantly more direct beneficiaries in a cost-effective way”, I am reassured that this organization not only believes, but also knows, that it will have impact.

Though at first, it had not occurred to me directly to put this, I find it very beneficial to New Profit Inc. to have added this to their criteria: “Organization has a compelling and plausible strategy that leverages the direct program model to change the system driving the core problem.” Imagine, if an organization shows the capacity to change the entire system, wouldn’t you want to be a part of that effort?

In a world of ‘sure money’, where you want to be sure that your money will go to where your personal values will be most satiated and you personally will recieve the most personal satisfaction as your Return on Investment, the above might be the most compelling.

Lastly, I find it highly important that every organization that I personally invest in (for this field) bears this quality: “Social entrepreneur desires a candid, collaborative relationship based on a rigorous exchange of ideas.”

I want an organization based on ideas, ideas, ideas! The more free-speaking people we have, and the more ridiculously creative, possibly wild ideas we throw about, I believe, will result in a world of greatest potential. I want that. In the meantime, amidst this atmosphere of ideas, I value greatly the advice given by Gordon B. Hinckley, former president of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, when he stated something to the extent,

“This is a joyous work. If you’re not happy, you’re probably doing something wrong.”

