Nicheless and Loving It

When I was a kid, I had a hard time with something: I wasn’t good at anything.  I’m not kidding.  You know how everyone starts finding their niches around middle school?  And you realize you had better hurry and discover your talent before all the spots on the soccer team are taken or all the trumpets in the band room have been spat all over?  Well, I tried it all.  And there just wasn’t anything that came naturally to me.  I played basketball pretty mediocrely, I had the kind of singing voice that you don’t even notice because it’s so forgettable, and I was pretty good at math, but not good enough to give up all hope of ever being popular (it was middle school, cut me some slack).  So I was just friends with all the people who did all those things.  I came out of middle school and high school with lots and lots of friends, but I never found a niche .  My mom told me all along that my talents are just different.  I am good at listening and loving and reaching out, yada yada yada.  It’s hard to take compliments from your mother when she uses the word “different” to describe you.  So I just came to term with the fact that I am pretty mediocre at lots of things.  I decided to improve in some areas by just working my little tail off, and this worked decently.  But the things that I believe really are my abilities are the kind that my mother talked about: a deep love for people, a real concern for their well-being, a person whom others trust easily and find comfort in.  It took me a while, but I am officially extremely grateful I got those gifts.  They help me do the thing I love most, which is loving others.

I am in this class because I want to figure out how I can offer the world my abilities and my passions.  Where my capabilities took a fair amount of discovering, my desires for the well-being of others and my love of people in general have always been evident to me.  I know what I want, but I’m not sure quite yet how to allow myself to do that.  My desires truly are simple: I want everyone to have a chance at their happiness.  I want to affect lots of people for the better, and I believe this class will help me to do just that.

