The Trojan Horse of BUS 490R: Olivia Gallegos

Do you ever have those moments in life where you pause, and think to yourself, “What am I doing and how did I end up here?” as a Classical Studies major taking this class and considering this blog prompt, I’m experiencing that right now.

I’m not sure if it was the classy well-dressed business lads that enticed me into wanting to work  in the Tanner Building, or the lure of the chicken quesadillas (offered  MWF) in the Blue Line Deli, but either way I made it to the Ballard Center and the BC led me here.

In all seriousness though, a series of volunteer and work experiences and a whole lot of the Lord’s guidance lead me to working at the Ballard Center. I was hired to work on the center’s public relations and social media, and I’ve learned a lot since I’ve been here. I expected to learn more about the center’s values, its mission statement, and desired outcomes in order to create more effective social media content here, but what I didn’t anticipate was learning and knowing that the Ballard Center and its efforts are an inspired work of the Lord.

After studying about Melvin J. Ballard’s life and about the church’s emphasis on self-reliance, and looking at the countless examples of people around the world who are dedicated to serving their fellowmen, I know that what we all do as a part of the center is part of a greater plan, and that individually and collectively as a Ballard Center family, we are on the cusp of incredible things.

Being exposed to all of these wondering concepts and ideas, and meeting amazing people involved in the center, the obvious next step has been figuring out how this energetic, 90’s loving, 5’2” girl from the suburbs of Portland, OR is going to change lives and the world for a living. I’m excited to see how I can combine my love for classical literature and education, PR and Marketing experiences, and passion for break-dancing (just kidding) into something that help make this world a better place.

