Be the Change, See the Change

My reasoning for taking this class is very simple, really.  Social innovation is my passion in life and I want to make a difference.

So, naturally, when I heard about a brand new social innovation class on campus that is action-oriented and is meant to help me develop the skills I need to succeed in the social sector, I was in.  Additionally, I was attracted by the unparalleled caliber of students invited to be in the class.

At a deeper level, I realize that the aspirations I have to live a life of social entrepreneurship will not be easy to attain.  Facilitating social and economic change on a widespread level is no walk in the park.  I will need to develop skills that are currently foreign to me.  I will need a better understanding of the sector, the players, and what is currently being done.  Above all, I will need to change who I am before I can change the world.

As I have gotten involved in social innovation, there have been a few quotations that have really affected me and my view of the social sector.  My favorite has been attributed to a hero of mine, Mahatma Ghandi:  “Be the change you want to see in the world.”  The second is a related statement from President Thomas S. Monson, in which he declares what can be accomplished once we realize this change in our lives.  When speaking to the student body at Brigham Young University just under a year ago, he said, “When you choose to follow Christ, you choose to be changed…. and changed men and women can change the world.”

In my life so far, my goals have greatly shaped the person I’ve become.  My hope is that by taking this class, my goals may be shaped, adjusted, and become concrete.  Then, as I pursue them throughout my life, I may know that I am becoming the person that I have always desired to become.  As my goals help me to become, and this class teaches me the skills I need in order to do, I will be able to change the world and bring about the level of social impact that I know I am capable of.

